The Jesuit missionaries who first came to Central New York in the mid-1600s called Onondaga Lake “Salt Lake” because of the brine springs around the lake’s southern end. So it’s fitting that the Salt Museum, commemorating the Salt City’s rich history with sodium chloride, makes its home on the banks of the lake. Until about 1900, most of the salt in the country came from Syracuse. The rustic-themed museum, built from the timbers of old salt warehouses, features exhibits demonstrating the processes by which the salt was made. It has kettles, barrels and other items used in the salt-making and distribution process. The museum is open from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m. every Saturday and Sunday until Sunday, Oct. 7, when it closes for the season. Call 453–6715 or visit onondagacountyparks.com for more information.